August 2013 (2)

19 August 2013 at 21:03 (Poems/Poetry) (, , , , )

SHOOTING A COMMERCIAL
I look camera in the eye querying
what way you take your poison
if on ice
my voice so unlike me
a jay ratcheting melody
from out the throat
a commercial smile takes light bulbs
makes others stare into dark endlessly
within first line spoken
they go to corner and face the wall
here is my shame
in the kingdom of dog eat dog
waiting to be found
to behave repeatedly like idiot
does not mean I am an idiot
choose to live authentically:
nightmare assembled by chance

they urge to try the product
sickening chit – chat won’t connect me
how full of liquor our lives are
loathing is embedded in DNA
hate to go through more takes
weekday as a wild animal
I am in it
to pay off fear (16th August 2013)

Leave a Reply

